CAMERA COMPARISON

Reolink RLC-520A vs Amcrest IP8M-T2599EW-AI-V3

Both are fixed outdoor PoE candidates. Compare the camera form, the documented stream and codec, and the exact specification for the supplied unit.

Compare the documented facts

Manufacturer-documented facts for the exact models. Missing entries are not established.
CheckReolink RLC-520AAmcrest IP8M-T2599EW-AI-V3
ConnectionRTSP; ONVIF in applicable Reolink family documentation10/100 Ethernet; RTSP and ONVIF Profiles S/G/T
Video codecH.264 on inspected US specificationNot established
NetworkEthernetNot established
PowerIEEE 802.3af, 48 V active PoE; 12 V DC alternative12 V DC or IEEE 802.3af PoE
Local storagemicroSD card slot; recorder route depends on setupmicroSD up to 256 GB
PlacementFixed outdoor dome-style cameraNot established
Published main codecNot establishedH.264 and H.265
ResolutionNot established3840 × 2160

Choose around the installation

Reolink RLC-520A fits
An outdoor wired network with a suitable PoE switch or injector.
Reolink RLC-520A does not fit
A Wi-Fi-only installation or a purchase based only on the model name.
Amcrest IP8M-T2599EW-AI-V3 fits
An outdoor fixed view after confirming the exact model and the manufacturer-linked specification.
Amcrest IP8M-T2599EW-AI-V3 does not fit
A purchase that depends on assuming every similarly named Amcrest turret uses this hardware.

Plan the cable and PoE source together. The inspected US page calls for active 802.3af power. A network cable alone does not supply it. Confirm the switch or injector specification and the cable route before buying.

Amcrest links this specification from the exact AI-V3 support article. The document heading names IP8M-T2599EW-AI-V3, but its model table shortens the names to IP8M-T2599EB-V3 / IP8M-T2599EW-V3. Confirm that identification with Amcrest before relying on it for an exact purchase. We have withheld a buying link.

Check the exact hardware before buying

Reolink documentation differs between revisions and regional pages. Record the hardware identifier, firmware and selected stream codec. The inspected US H.264 listing cannot settle the codec for every RLC-520A offered by a seller.

The source-name discrepancy remains unresolved. The table describes what the manufacturer-linked specification publishes, not an independently confirmed supplied hardware revision. A codec or ONVIF profile in that document does not establish CameraViewer playback, audio, controls or recording access.

No physical camera has been tested in CameraViewer. A documented stream is a candidate for a test, not a promise of playback, controls or recording access.

Sources and limits

Sources (4 documents)
CameraViewer product team: CameraViewer development brief

Owner-supplied brief · App behavior not independently tested

Publication date: Not stated · Development brief

Simulator captures demonstrate manual RTSP setup, decoded H.264 fixture video, saving a camera and full-screen viewing.

Owner-supplied brief; screenshots have not been independently examined here. Test media demonstrates app behavior, not physical-camera compatibility.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: Which Reolink Products Support CGI/RTSP/ONVIF

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Must connect to Reolink Home Hub

Quote applies to the listed battery Wi-Fi camera row. Model, power and Hub/NVR conditions vary; no hands-on hardware test.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: Reolink RLC-520A US product specifications

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

H.264

Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match.

Read the source ↗
Amcrest: IP8M-T2599EW-AI-V3 manufacturer-linked technical specifications

Conflicting source instructions · Reviewed 2026-10-14

Publication date: 2024-02-23 · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Power Supply 12 VDC/PoE (802.3af)

Linked by the exact AI-V3 support article. Document heading uses AI-V3; its model table omits AI. Confirm that discrepancy before an exact purchase. No app hardware test.

Read the source ↗