CAMERA COMPARISON

Tapo C120 vs Wyze Cam v4: local stream or app recording

On this page

Choose the C120 for a documented open stream. Choose Cam v4 for Wyze app viewing with local card recording. A card slot does not create an open stream.

Decide the viewing route first

These two wired Wi-Fi cameras solve different jobs. The C120 notes document RTSP and ONVIF Profile S with H.264. The Cam v4 notes document local microSD recording in the Wyze app, with no direct RTSP route in the inspected sources.

If another viewer must receive live video, start with the C120 and verify its exact hardware. If the Wyze app is the viewer, compare Cam v4 recording and plan options on their own terms.

Compare storage without mixing it with streaming

QuestionTapo C120Wyze Cam v4
Open live streamRTSP and ONVIF documentedNo direct RTSP documented
Local recordingmicroSD slot; check exact card limitmicroSD up to 512 GB on the inspected page
Paid plan questionTapo Care is separate from card recordingCloud and SD Card CVR terms are separate from basic local recording
Power5 V USB Type-CWired USB power; match the supplied kit to the placement

Read Wyze Cam v4 specifications and Wyze local recording versus SD Card CVR before choosing a card or plan. Do not transfer Wyze Cam Pan v3 firmware evidence to Cam v4. The local storage guide keeps those questions separate.

Buy for the route you named

We show a checked Amazon destination on the C120 model page. We hold the Cam v4 destination until the exact US variant, seller and condition are rechecked. Check pack, power parts and returns on either listing.

Neither camera is physically tested in CameraViewer. A documented stream is a candidate for a test, not a promise of playback, controls or recording access.

Continue with the RTSP buying guide if you need more open-stream candidates.

Sources and limits

Sources (4 documents)
CameraViewer product team: CameraViewer development brief

Owner-supplied brief · App behavior not independently tested

Publication date: Not stated · Development brief

Simulator captures demonstrate manual RTSP setup, decoded H.264 fixture video, saving a camera and full-screen viewing.

Owner-supplied brief; screenshots have not been independently examined here. Test media demonstrates app behavior, not physical-camera compatibility.

Read the source ↗
TP-Link Tapo: Tapo C120 US product specifications

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

H.264

Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match.

Read the source ↗
Wyze: Wyze Cam v4: US product specifications

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-23

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Local (microSD card required)

US Cam v4 product page identifies local storage and a subscription cloud route. This is not Pan v3 firmware, exact third-party card qualification or tested CameraViewer playback.

Read the source ↗
Wyze: What is SD card Continuous Video Recording (CVR)?

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-23

Publication date: Not stated · Source update: 2025-01-14 · Manufacturer or standards documentation

you will still be able to use 24/7 Local Recording without a subscription to a Wyze security plan.

Wyze distinguishes basic local recording from the paid app feature combining local and cloud playback. This does not establish an open stream or CameraViewer archive access.

Read the source ↗