CAMERA COMPARISON
Tapo C210 vs C225: local streams and indoor choices
On this page
Both C210 and C225 have documented local stream routes. Compare indoor controls and power, then match the exact hardware; app tests remain pending.

Both are candidates for an indoor local stream
The inspected US specifications list RTSP, ONVIF and H.264 for both Tapo C210 and C225. Those facts make each a documented local-viewing candidate. They leave CameraViewer playback and camera controls untested.
Use the official C210 specification and C225 specification for the current region and hardware. Our C210 model notes and C225 model notes collect the source scope and purchase checks.
Differences that affect the setup
| Check | Tapo C210 | Tapo C225 |
|---|---|---|
| Position | Indoor pan-and-tilt | Indoor pan-and-tilt |
| Network | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi |
| Documented codec | H.264 | H.264 |
| Power on inspected US page | 9 V DC | 12 V DC |
| Lens concealment | Not established by this comparison | Listed in manufacturer description |
| Physical CameraViewer test | Pending | Pending |
Keep the correct adapter with each camera. Similar housings do not establish interchangeable power. The C225's documented lens concealment also creates a camera-side setting to check when a view stops. We have not independently tested that control.
Choose around the room and controls
First check that the intended view needs a motorized camera. If a fixed view covers the area, the C120 model notes provide another candidate to investigate. For either indoor pan-and-tilt model, plan nearby power, suitable Wi-Fi and a mounting position that leaves the view clear.
Check the controls you intend to use in the manufacturer's app. An ONVIF entry or RTSP video specification does not establish that another app can move the camera, talk through it or open recordings. Each task needs its own evidence.
Prepare the same local-access questions
Confirm the model, revision and firmware, create the documented camera account and record the stream settings. The Tapo RTSP guide explains those steps. Start with one stream and preserve an address with credentials removed in your notes.
We have no verified prices or merchant offers for declaring a value winner. Check the exact seller listing, included accessories and return conditions before buying. This site's publisher develops CameraViewer, whose hardware playback remains unverified for both cameras.
Continue with the indoor local-viewing guide for placement. Use compatibility evidence to separate published camera capabilities from the app tests still to come.
Sources and limits
CameraViewer development briefCameraViewer product team · Owner-supplied brief · App behavior not independently tested
Publication date: Not stated · Development brief
Simulator captures demonstrate manual RTSP setup, decoded H.264 fixture video, saving a camera and full-screen viewing.
Owner-supplied brief; screenshots have not been independently examined here. Test media demonstrates app behavior, not physical-camera compatibility.
Read the source ↗How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIFTP-Link · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
High quality (stream1): rtsp://username:password@IP Address/stream1
Applies to documented Tapo models and configurations. Manufacturer instructions do not establish app compatibility.
Read the source ↗Tapo C120 US product specificationsTP-Link Tapo · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
H.264
Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match; no physical-camera app test or merchant listing verified.
Read the source ↗Tapo C210 US product specificationsTP-Link Tapo · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
H.264
Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match; no physical-camera app test or merchant listing verified.
Read the source ↗Tapo C225 US product specificationsTP-Link Tapo · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
H.264
Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match; no physical-camera app test or merchant listing verified.
Read the source ↗Prelaunch content. Manufacturer protocol documentation and app test evidence describe different things.