CAMERA COMPARISON

Reolink RLC-520A vs Reolink RLC-810A

Both are fixed outdoor PoE cameras. Compare resolution, the selected stream codec and PoE power for the exact unit.

Compare the documented facts

Manufacturer-documented facts for the exact models. Missing entries are not established.
CheckReolink RLC-520AReolink RLC-810A
ConnectionRTSP; ONVIF in applicable Reolink family documentationStandalone RTSP documented
Video codecH.264 on inspected US specificationNot established
NetworkEthernetNot established
PowerIEEE 802.3af, 48 V active PoE; 12 V DC alternativeActive 48 V IEEE 802.3af or 12 V DC, 1 A; under 12 W
Local storagemicroSD card slot; recorder route depends on setupNot established
PlacementFixed outdoor dome-style cameraNot established
Published main codecNot establishedH.265
ResolutionNot established3840 × 2160
Camera weather ratingNot establishedIP67
Lens variantsNot established4 mm and 6 mm specifications appear on the inspected page

Choose around the installation

Reolink RLC-520A fits
An outdoor wired network with a suitable PoE switch or injector.
Reolink RLC-520A does not fit
A Wi-Fi-only installation or a purchase based only on the model name.
Reolink RLC-810A fits
A fixed outdoor network-cable installation.
Reolink RLC-810A does not fit
A plan that requires confirmed full-resolution H.264 playback in CameraViewer.

Plan the cable and PoE source together. The inspected US page calls for active 802.3af power. A network cable alone does not supply it. Confirm the switch or injector specification and the cable route before buying.

Choose the lens before choosing the listing. The 4 mm and 6 mm specifications describe different fields of view. Its 4K claim also carries a codec decision: a documented stream is not evidence of full-resolution app playback.

Check the exact hardware before buying

Reolink documentation differs between revisions and regional pages. Record the hardware identifier, firmware and selected stream codec. The inspected US H.264 listing cannot settle the codec for every RLC-520A offered by a seller.

CameraViewer has demonstrated H.264 fixture playback, not this physical camera or H.265 hardware playback. Inspect the actual stream profile and hardware revision. The page contains multiple lens specifications, so a generic RLC-810A title does not settle lens choice.

No physical camera has been tested in CameraViewer. A documented stream is a candidate for a test, not a promise of playback, controls or recording access.

Sources and limits

Sources (4 documents)
CameraViewer product team: CameraViewer development brief

Owner-supplied brief · App behavior not independently tested

Publication date: Not stated · Development brief

Simulator captures demonstrate manual RTSP setup, decoded H.264 fixture video, saving a camera and full-screen viewing.

Owner-supplied brief; screenshots have not been independently examined here. Test media demonstrates app behavior, not physical-camera compatibility.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: Which Reolink Products Support CGI/RTSP/ONVIF (2 excerpts)
Which Reolink Products Support CGI/RTSP/ONVIF

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Must connect to Reolink Home Hub

Quote applies to the listed battery Wi-Fi camera row. Model, power and Hub/NVR conditions vary; no hands-on hardware test.

Read the source ↗
reolink protocols documentation

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Must connect to Reolink Home Hub

Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: Reolink RLC-520A US product specifications

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

H.264

Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: reolink rlc 810a documentation

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

PoE IEEE 802.3af, 48V Active

Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.

Read the source ↗