CAMERA COMPARISON
Tapo C120 vs Tapo C320WS
Both are fixed outdoor cameras. Compare the network route and power supply first, then check the exact hardware revision.
Compare the documented facts
| Check | Tapo C120 | Tapo C320WS |
|---|---|---|
| Connection | RTSP; ONVIF Profile S | RTSP and ONVIF documented |
| Video codec | H.264 | H.264 |
| Network | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; no Ethernet port | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; 10/100 Mbps Ethernet |
| Power | 5 V USB Type-C | 9 V DC, 0.6 A adapter |
| Local storage | microSD card slot | Not established |
| Weather rating | IP66 | Not established |
| Camera weather rating | Not established | IP66 |
| Inspected US page | Not established | C320WS V2.20; up to 512 GB microSD |
Choose around the installation
- Tapo C120 fits
- A fixed view with nearby power and suitable Wi-Fi.
- Tapo C120 does not fit
- A wired network or remotely controlled pan-and-tilt position.
- Tapo C320WS fits
- An outdoor fixed view where Wi-Fi or Ethernet data is available.
- Tapo C320WS does not fit
- A one-cable PoE installation without a separate power adapter.
Check the mounting point before choosing the C120. A fixed camera keeps the same aim; moving the view requires moving the camera. Plan the power cable and test the Wi-Fi signal at that point before mounting.
The Ethernet port carries network data; the inspected power specification calls for a 9 V adapter. Run the power route as carefully as the network route, and check the revision on the supplied unit before using the current storage limit.
Check the exact hardware before buying
Outdoor placement needs more than the camera rating. Keep the power supply and connections within their own stated conditions. The inspected specification does not establish a waterproof power adapter.
The current US page identifies V2.20. Its storage capacity and feature set must not be transferred to an older revision. Outdoor camera protection does not establish that an exposed adapter or cable joint is weatherproof.
We may earn a commission from this link.
Tapo C120 model notes ↗Tapo C320WS model notes ↗All comparisons ↗No physical camera has been tested in CameraViewer. A documented stream is a candidate for a test, not a promise of playback, controls or recording access.
Sources and limits
Sources (4 documents)
CameraViewer product team: CameraViewer development brief
Owner-supplied brief · App behavior not independently tested
Publication date: Not stated · Development brief
Simulator captures demonstrate manual RTSP setup, decoded H.264 fixture video, saving a camera and full-screen viewing.
Owner-supplied brief; screenshots have not been independently examined here. Test media demonstrates app behavior, not physical-camera compatibility.
Read the source ↗TP-Link: How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIF
Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
High quality (stream1): rtsp://username:password@IP Address/stream1
Applies to documented Tapo models and configurations. Manufacturer instructions do not establish app compatibility.
Read the source ↗TP-Link Tapo: Tapo C120 US product specifications
Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
H.264
Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match.
Read the source ↗TP-Link: tapo c320ws documentation
Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
Video Compression H.264
Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.
Read the source ↗