CAMERA BUYING
PoE camera power: ports, budgets and installation fit
On this page
Choose active PoE equipment by the camera standard, each port limit and the shared budget. An Ethernet connector alone does not establish PoE, and the switch port count does not tell you how many ports supply power.

Write down the complete cable route
A PoE installation has a camera, a power-sourcing port, the network path back to the router and the cable connections between them. Start with one camera position. Record whether the cable and each connection will be indoors, outdoors or in a damp enclosure. The camera's weather rating does not protect an exposed connector, injector or indoor switch.
The RLC-810A specifies active 48 V IEEE 802.3af power or a separate DC supply. The Duo 2 PoE also specifies active 802.3af. Match the standard in the exact camera documentation; do not substitute a passive injector because its connector fits.
Separate physical ports from powered ports
The inspected manufacturer pages describe these configurations. Hardware revisions matter, so compare the version on the actual listing and unit before treating a number as current.
| Device | Inspected powered-port arrangement | Published limit | Scope to preserve |
|---|---|---|---|
| TP-Link TL-SG1005P | Four PoE ports, five network ports total | 15.4 W per port; 65 W shared on the inspected US page | The page also mentions af/at devices; it does not justify silently replacing the stated port rating with 30 W |
| TP-Link TL-SG1008P | Four PoE ports, eight network ports total | 15.4 W per port; 55 W shared on the inspected US page | Eight network ports does not mean eight powered cameras |
| TP-Link POE150S / former TL-POE150S URL | One injector route | 15.4 W maximum; 802.3af | The old URL redirects to current Omada documentation; match the supplied revision |
Read the five-port switch source, eight-port source and injector source. These are examples for checking requirements, not verified interchangeable shopping offers.
Check two budgets, not just one sum
Each camera must fit its own port's supported standard and delivered-power limit. All powered cameras together must also fit the switch's shared budget. Use the equipment maker's specified power requirements, including accessories, rather than average use observed on a quiet day. Power available at a source port and power delivered to a device can differ because the cable consumes some power.
The RLC-810A source lists consumption below 12 W; Duo 2 PoE lists below 15 W. Their simple sum is below 27 W. That arithmetic is only a first screen. It does not certify the complete installation against a 15.4 W source-port rating, cable losses, startup behavior or an exact switch revision. Confirm each camera's explicit 802.3af compatibility and the selected switch documentation before using the pair.
A missing camera consumption field should remain missing. Do not fill it with a guessed value and produce a reassuring total. Stop the sizing decision until the manufacturer supplies the requirement. This page provides a requirements table rather than a calculator with invented default loads.
Match cable and mount separately
Use a cable and connection system rated for the route. Check the camera manufacturer's installation instructions for waterproof couplers, strain relief, mounting orientation and screws. Do not infer a mount fits because the brand matches; compare the exact camera and mount model or manufacturer fit list.
Keep an injector or switch inside its own specified operating environment. If the cable route needs building work, grounding or lightning protection, have the installer resolve those requirements. A listed camera weather rating does not settle the rest of that work.
Test the network and video after power is established
Confirm the camera starts, receives the intended network address and exposes the documented local endpoint. Then inspect the selected codec. PoE success does not establish video decoding, audio, camera controls or recording in another app. The outdoor buying guide, Reolink setup guide and recording routes cover those next decisions.
Check an exact product listing
Omada POE150S 15.4 W injector; match its revision and camera requirements. Check this product on Amazon ↗ We may earn a commission from this link.
Seller observed 2026-10-14: Always In Touch. Selected condition and purchase terms need checking. Check the selected condition, model, quantity, seller and returns. Manufacturer warranty eligibility and the hardware supplied by the seller are not established here. This listing does not prove a complete system fit.
Sources and limits
Sources (5 documents)
Reolink: reolink rlc 810a documentation
Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
PoE IEEE 802.3af, 48V Active
Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.
Read the source ↗Reolink: reolink duo 2 poe documentation
Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
Video Compression H.265/H.264
Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.
Read the source ↗TP-Link: TP-Link sg1005p documentation
Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
Supports PoE Power up to 15.4W for each PoE port
Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.
Read the source ↗TP-Link: TP-Link sg1008p documentation
Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
PoE power up to 55W for all PoE outputs
Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.
Read the source ↗TP-Link: TP-Link poe150s documentation
Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14
Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation
Compatible With IEEE 802.3af Compliant PDs
Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.
Read the source ↗