CAMERA BUYING

Reolink recording: direct camera, NVR or Home Hub?

On this page

Direct camera access, an NVR and a Home Hub use different addresses, credentials and storage. Choose the route using the exact camera and recorder hardware, then confirm the stream profile. A recorder that saves video does not establish CameraViewer archive playback.

Choose the route before adding storage

Start with one camera and one intended task. For a live view, a standalone camera may expose its own local stream. A recorder can collect streams and save them on another device. A Home Hub can provide a supported route for cameras that do not expose the same protocols directly. The address and account used by the viewer depend on which device provides the stream.

Reolink's protocol matrix distinguishes these cases. Preserve its conditions rather than treating a manufacturer name as a compatibility result.

Camera or routePublished local-access conditionWhat the viewer connects to
Supported standalone PoE and plug-in Wi-Fi modelsDirect protocols, with model exceptionsThe camera, or a supported recorder route
E1 ProStandalone protocols documentedCamera address and camera account
Base E1Requires a Home Hub or NVRHub or recorder, with its channel and credentials
Battery-powered Wi-Fi camerasGenerally require a Home HubSupported hub route, not an assumed direct camera address
NVR-kit camera without a UIDRequires a Reolink NVRRecorder channel
4G LTE familyProtocols not generally supported in the matrixDo not assume a local route from a similar Wi-Fi model

The current matrix gives a separate exception for the second-generation battery doorbell in wired power mode, and a wired-network condition for TrackMix Wired LTE. Those exceptions do not extend to every battery doorbell or every LTE model. An exact hardware and firmware match is still required.

NVR example: RLN8-410 hardware matters

The RLN8-410 product page identifies N7MB01 hardware in its current channel expansion statement. It distinguishes eight PoE or plug-in Wi-Fi cameras from additional battery-camera channels. Older RLN8-410 units cannot inherit that statement simply because the model name is the same.

The inspected specification lists eight PoE ports, a 25 W maximum per port and IEEE 802.3af/at support. It also lists a shared storage ceiling with per-drive limits. Confirm the actual hardware's drive and camera support before ordering a recorder, an extra disk or a mixed camera system. A bundle may include a different disk size from the maximum the recorder supports.

For older H3MB16, H3MB02 and H3MB17 NVR hardware, Reolink's protocol matrix restricts 4K RTSP to the fluent stream. A camera's standalone clear stream and its stream through that recorder are different choices. Record the channel number and configured stream profile, keeping passwords out of shared notes.

Home Hub example: compatibility has exceptions

The Home Hub compatibility page describes supported plug-in and PoE cameras with a UID beginning 9527, then names exceptions. These include Lumus IPC_325C7, E1 Zoom IPC_515SD6, cameras without a UID and refurbished units whose shipped hardware cannot be guaranteed.

Battery cameras have their own hardware and firmware table. Check the actual model rather than treating a current series name as sufficient. The standard Home Hub is listed for eight cameras total; Home Hub Pro channel limits vary by its hardware. The Home Hub family page is a family comparison, not evidence that every box has the same storage or power parts.

Choose a disk by exact model and recorder limit

Reolink's tested-disk list includes Seagate ST2000VX016 at 2 TB, ST4000VX015 at 4 TB and ST6000VX008 at 6 TB. These are specific surveillance-drive examples, subject to the recorder hardware's capacity limit. The list does not turn every SkyHawk capacity or every WD Purple product into a tested match.

The inspected current list does not establish an exact WD Purple model for this system. Keep that option unqualified until its exact drive and recorder documentation agree. External-drive support also needs the documented interface and its own power supply; Reolink explicitly distinguishes eSATA from the recorder's USB port for this purpose.

Verify the intended result

Test live video and saved recordings as separate tasks. First confirm that the selected recorder route is reachable and produces the expected stream. Then use the manufacturer's supported playback route to confirm recording and retrieval. CameraViewer physical-camera playback, camera controls and archive access remain untested.

Return to local storage for card-versus-recorder decisions, card compatibility for exact endurance combinations, and PoE requirements for the power path. These choices form one system; a valid part number alone does not prove the complete installation.

Check an exact product listing

  • Reolink RLN8-410, one eight-channel recorder with a listed pre-installed 2 TB disk; hardware revision unspecified. Check this product on Amazon ↗ We may earn a commission from this link.

    Seller observed 2026-10-15: ReolinkDirect. Selected condition and purchase terms need checking. The captured buying option did not state item condition. Confirm the selected condition, quantity, seller, returns, hardware revision, lens, supplied parts and applicable warranty before ordering. This model destination does not lock a seller or prove system or CameraViewer compatibility. Seller authorization and product authenticity have not been independently established.

  • Reolink Home Hub, one hub with a listed 64 GB card; not Home Hub Pro, 2 or Mini. Check this product on Amazon ↗ We may earn a commission from this link.

    Seller observed 2026-10-15: ReolinkDirect. Selected condition and purchase terms need checking. The captured buying option did not state item condition. Confirm the selected condition, quantity, seller, returns, hardware revision, lens, supplied parts and applicable warranty before ordering. This model destination does not lock a seller or prove system or CameraViewer compatibility. Seller authorization and product authenticity have not been independently established.

Sources and limits

Sources (5 documents)
Reolink: reolink protocols documentation

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Must connect to Reolink Home Hub

Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: reolink hub fit documentation

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Refurbished models (as the shipped hardware version cannot be guaranteed.)

Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: reolink hdd fit documentation

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

ST4000VX015 (Surveillance)

Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: reolink rln8 410 documentation

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Max. Power Per Port 25W

Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.

Read the source ↗
Reolink: reolink home hub documentation

Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-14

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Home Hub

Selected model, version and configuration only. Manufacturer claims do not establish CameraViewer hardware playback, controls or recordings.

Read the source ↗